help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeEventsCultural Competency Series: Workshop I

Events - Event View

This is the "Event Detail" view, showing all available information for this event. If registration is required or recommended, click the 'Register Now' button to start the process. If the event has passed, click the "Event Report" button to read a report and view photos that were uploaded.

Cultural Competency Series: Workshop I

When:
Saturday, September 26, 2020, 2:00 PM until 3:30 PM
Where:
Contact(s):
Deborah S Fischer
Category:
BPW Events
Registration is required
Facilitated by Sher Singh, California and presented in Partnership with NFBPWC National and NFBPWC Virtual. September 26, 2020 on Zoom 1 PM Pacific, 2 PM Mountain, 3 PM Central, 4 PM Eastern. This 90 minute workshop will be an introduction to Cultural Competency: the ability to understand and interact with people from different cultures. • Join a comfortable space to discuss uncomfortable topics • Participate in open dialogue; listen and share experiences • Learn about tools to use in your daily interactions • Learn about laws, policies, and practices • Take a closer look at your own cultural norms and those of others Sher Singh has facilitated Cultural Competency workshops for over 25 years. She was president of the Cultural Task Force of Orange County, NY. She facilitated trainings for non-profits, for profits, educational institutions and civic groups. Sher sat on a domestic violence board and mental health board dealing with under-layers of cultural imbalances. She created the first ever Pine Bush Central School District Diversity Committee including students, staff and community members. Sher is an Orange County Humans Rights Commission award recipient.